Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are some people who believe that zoos are not a suitable place for wild animals, while others believe that zoos can provide considerable benefits to humanity. One of the reasons that zoos are not good places for wild animals is that they have an adverse impact on their mental health. Wild animals are supposed to roam freely in the wild but restricting their freedom can damage their mental health. Secondly, sometimes zoos are dangerous. Some of these animals are untamed and ferocious, and they can escape from zoos that are not fully secure. This can lead to people being injured by those animals, therefore zoos threaten people. However, in my opinion, we can reduce the damage taken to both animals and people by having more proper and secure zoos. On the other hand, the advantages that zoos provide are more than the disadvantages. Zoos can give scientists a chance to discover vaccines. Since the similarities between humans and animals are noticeable, scientists can experiment on animals to see the reaction of different drugs on animals and find the best drug to fight a disease. What’s more, zoos can protect rare species that are on the edge of extinction. Due to overhunting of poachers, the population of endangered animals is decreasing quickly. As a result, zoos can keep animals safe from hunters. I also believe that the benefits which zoos give outweigh the drawbacks by being beneficial to the medical world and a safe place for animals. In conclusion, although zoos can give wild animals mental damage and a chance to hurt people, I believe that the benefits which are advancements in medicine and preserved areas are more important than the disadvantages.