People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped?

Recently, the trend of committing crimes has been raised and people continue to break the law even after their sentences. I believe there are several reasons for people to offend and the governments can take certain actions to limit the problem. To begin with, the difficulty of seeking jobs may be a reason why criminals continue to re-offend. For citizens who serve a long sentence, they may not be admitted by a company if there is no access to receive up-to-days skills in the prison. In this way, they may fail to support themselves financially and commit crimes again regardless of the undesirable consequences. Furthermore, the low cost of punishments may be another reason. For example, the punishment for stealing is only as short as a few days. Therefore, punishments are not strong enough to deter potential criminals from breaking laws since the benefits can overtake the cost. However, there are multiple solutions governments can take to solve this issue. Firstly, the states can offer criminals useful skills as a way to help them equip themselves and be exposed to as many opportunities as they can. Secondly, supervising the criminals may be another solution to solve the issue. This may successfully prevent them from connecting with other offenders. Moreover, the general public may learn to consider the negative consequences once the cost of committing crimes is increased. For example, potential criminals may think twice after the punishment of stealing is lengthened to a few months. In conclusion, the difficulty of finding jobs and the low risk of committing crimes may be the reasons for the problem, whereas the states can offer useful skills, supervise the criminals and raise the cost of crime to lower the crime rate.