More and more people are moving to cities to look for work. What are the problems does this cause? What are the possible solutions?

Modernization has made jobs in urban areas more attractive to the rural youth population. However, this has put a lot of pressure on urban ecology and sustenance. Therefore, steps must be taken to raise more opportunities and development in non-metropolitan regions for the overall growth of the economy. The presence of many migrants in cities has multifarious effects. Firstly, it will have an impact on the infrastructure of a metropolis. To illustrate, the demands for needs like transportation, food and shelter will grow which will indirectly lead to a high cost of living. Secondly, the rate of poverty will increase as there are chances that some immigrants might not get a job as per their skill level which can force them to work with meagre salaries. Moreover, it will severely raise the pollution levels. There is already a scarcity of green belts in cities and hence the burden on natural resources will have detrimental effects. To slow down the migration of people to metropolitan areas, there are many possible steps governments can take. First, they need to increase employment in sub-urban or countryside areas. In addition, there is a need to improve infrastructure in remote villages that can promote the economy. Furthermore, local organizations or municipalities should impart vocational training or lay emphasis on self-reliant sources of income such as agriculture. Also, there is a need to raise awareness among the rural population that given the right opportunities, it is possible to lead a high-quality life in villages. To conclude, migration makes cities overcrowded and thus deteriorates the overall quality of life. There are no overnight solutions that can stop immigration, rather than governments having to devise long-term policies to encourage residents to find jobs in the community they are living in.