In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you Think the advantage of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a controversy about whether driverless vehicles are advtangetous to us. I think driverless vehicles have merits and demerits; my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, they can prevent some traffic accidents. For instance, there are hundreds and thousands of traffic cases that are caused by drivers' imprudence, such as drunk driving and malicious driving. Take me as an example. I witnessed a traffic accident in China. Some people were killed in that accident, and the driver was tested drunk. In this case, had the driver driven a driverless vehicle, this tragedy could have been prevented. Second, driverless vehicles can better protect the environment and save resources. Through its system, a driverless vehicle can find the best way to accelerate and reduce its speed. Sometimes we drive either too fast or slow, that's why there are innumerable traffic accidents annually. On the contrary, a driverless vehicle can calculate the ideal speed; therefore, the fuel efficiency rate is promoted, and the carbon emissions and toxic gases are reduced. As a consequence, they can alleviate global warming to a large extent. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages of driverless cars as well. For instance, drivers' safety can't be guaranteed. It's commonplace that our pcs constantly collapse, and onboard computers are no exception. There are countless pieces of news about drivers who were killed on account of their onboards computers that were not working. Hence, it can be said that no matter how developed driverless cars are, they are still not completely safe to drive. In conclusion, I believe the advantages of a driverless vehicle outstrip its disadvantages.