Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

Some societies believe that existing of fixed punishments is a suitable method in a judicial system which has turned into an important issue. This method will have some profits and drawbacks. This essay will illustrate both of them in detail. There are upsides to establishing fixed punishment. Time-saving in closing a case is one of them. Since its punishment is clear, so, it is not needed to find an appropriate penalty. For example, for someone who steals a car, the court hands out the related sentence without delay. Another profit is the declining crime rate. It means, that when a community is aware of the punishments, thus they try not to commit crimes. As a result, the number of crimes will decrease. Despite the above arguments, this system has some disadvantages. First, it can be an unfair way because the nature of the crime will be ignored. For instance, someone who murders a person deliberately, in comparison with an unintentional case, will receive a similar sentence. In addition, the court does not take any notice of the crime ’s reasons. For example, there is a different cause behind bank robbery in comparison with shoplifting, but the robber and the shoplifter will be imposed a close penalty. To sum up, considering a fixed punishment in a legal system for all types of crimes is attended by some individuals. Notwithstanding the advantages of them like time-saving and crime rate decreasing, the disadvantages, including being unfair way and ignoring the cause of crime should also be taken into consideration.