Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment

Some societies believe that existing of fixed punishments has highly efficient in a judicial system that has turned into a tough issue. This method will have some profits and drawbacks. This essay will illustrate both of them in detail. The main advantage of this method is time-saving in closing a case. Since its punishment is clear, so, it is not needed to find an appropriate penalty. For example, for someone who steals a car, the court hands out the related sentence without delay. The second positive point is the declining crime rate. It means, that when a community is aware of the punishments, thus they try not to commit crimes, and the number of crimes will decrease. Despite the advantages, this system has some disadvantages. First, it may be an unfair way because the nature of the crime will be ignored. For instance, someone who murders a person deliberately, in comparison with an unintentional case, will receive a similar sentence. Another negative side is the court may not take any notice of the crime ’s reasons. For example, there are different causes behind bank robbery and shoplifting, but both of them will be imposed a close penalty. To sum up, establishing a fixed punishment in a legal system for all types of crimes has been attended by some individuals. Although this way has a number of advantages like case closing time-saving and crime rate decreasing even though it has disadvantages, including being an unfair way and ignoring the cause of crime.