some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Discuss this view and give your own opinion

It's been said by some people that punishments should be fixed for each crime, whereas others do not think likewise. The essay will illustrate both sides as well as my opinion. On the one hand, using fixed sentences for criminals can help reduce crime. As a matter of fact, rape incidents are covering the headlines of the newspapers, and it has become an alarming issue. To illustrate with an example, a 19-year-old Manisha was found dead and raped in the jungle, which was hardly 3 kilometres away from the playschool where she was working as an educator. After the postmortem reports, it was revealed that she had been brutally gang raped, and those people had taken her organs out. But till this date, cops can't find the rapers. But in other nations like the UAE, where the rapers are sentenced to death, have fewer rape incidents than in India. On the other hand, the remaining proportion says that the intention and the motivation behind the crime should be taken into consideration. Crimes like stealing, traffic violations, jaywalking, etc, are not intentional but still count as crimes, so they can be dealt with not such strong and strict punishments. To exemplify, recently, a Punjabi truck driver took a U-turn in the United States and ended up in an accident where the car was hit by the truck, and three people sitting in the car lost their lives. While the car driver had some space to take an action like putting on the brakes or taking a turn but he did not do anything to save himself. The court in Florida is sentencing him to 45 years, although the driver has not done anything with the wrong motivation. Knowing the intentions before giving punishments can help reduce the intensity of the case. As far as my views are concerned, crimes such as rapes should be allocated with unchangeable sentences(like death), as it can create a sense of fear among the people and result in fewer assaults. But when it comes to some other crimes, the purpose and the incentive should be considered. To conclude, victims should be served with justice, and strict actions should be taken against serious criminals, as leaving them without any legal action gives them and others the motivation to commit more crimes.