Some cities create extra housing by building tall buildings. Other cities do this by building on wide areas of land. Which do you think is the best solution to the problem of housing?

The housing problem is indeed one of the most challenging situations that face every single city around the world. While some cities tended to build apartment blocks, others turn to building houses in wide spaces. I believe that building tall residential buildings is the best solution from an economical and environmental point of view. Admittedly, creating extra houses through building new houses in a wide area has its advantages. First, in terms of safety, low-rise buildings are safer than multistorey buildings. This is because of their resistance to earthquakes and other natural disasters that comes from their construction method and their proximity to the earth. Moreover, in the case of an emergency, low-rise buildings are more accessible than tall ones. Fire accidents, as an example, could be less challenging if it is happening in one-story houses, firefighters do not need to use ladders to rescue inhabitants, and they can control fire more easily than if they deal with fire in tall buildings. Nevertheless, I think the best way to tackle housing problems is by building multi-stories buildings, which are more positive economically and environmentally. Building high-rise building costs much less than building each property on a piece of land. This is because there is no need for a building base on every floor, which costs a lot of money. In addition to the cost, a considerable range of services, such as gyms, shopping stores, and offices, can be gathered together under one roof. Another positive aspect of high-rise buildings is the preservation of the green area. Building multi-stories blocks help cities to preserve more open green spaces, which enhances the environmental quality. Therefore, building new houses in open spaces is not the best solution for housing challenges. In conclusion, although the construction of low-rise houses as a housing solution in some cities has a great advantage in terms of safety, I think building multi-stories blocks is the best choice because of their positive impact on the environment and on the economy.