With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

In the globalized era, most people think that access to natural resources should be discovered more of the increasing demand for petroleum products globally. This essay disagrees with the idea because it brings negative effects to nature and its process is not cost-effective. On the one hand, the consumption of fossil fuels should be reduced because it damages the natural environment. This consumption produces hazardous emissions that create greenhouse effects and increase global temperatures, especially in urban regions which have many traffic congestion and manufacturing industries. For instance, some agricultural activities in agrarian countries are threatened by wastewater, air pollution, and this heated temperature so production might considerably decline. The other reason is the process of exploring new fuel resource sites needs extensive investment. The untouched areas are usually in the extreme sites requiring a special type of equipment and take longer time, making it so costly. Some engineers, taking as an instance, need advanced technology to discover new supplies deep under the sea. On the other hand, discovering potential oil and gas resources can foster the economic growth of the country. These discoveries can produce ample supplies of fuels and run more big petroleum companies which creates job opportunities in those countries. Saudi Arabia, for example, has become one of the richest companies after digging huge oil wells. It is logical to conclude that fossil fuels create detrimental impacts on the natural environment, and it is not cost-effective to explore resources in untouched sites. Therefore, I believe that people should not explore these locations.