Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the few decades, there is a growing proportion of the world’s population who decide to delayed parenthood. The underlying reasons for this trend are varied, and I suppose that the merits would eclipse the downsides. There are two main factors leading to the decision of delaying childbirth. The first one is because people have the propensity for prioritizing their careers over taking parental roles. Raising a child is extortionately expensive with precarious financial resources, especially females don’t want to risk their careers and become housewives having unpaid housework such as laundry, babysitting, cooking. Therefore, many couples want to stabilize their finance before becoming parents so as to provide their kids and accommodate every demand with sufficient living condition for their future development. Another explanation for this is that many modern individuals have adopted a fear of taking unwanted custody due to the rise of divorce in recent years. It is because premature marriages have become common, which usually goes with many couples doubt of their marital harmony. There would be fewer kids growing up without fatherhood or motherhood. However, the drawbacks should not be overlooked. In fact, raising children at old age is more arduous than that at a young age, not only because their health will decline but also their children are too little to self-manage. Additionally, it could both heighten the possibility infertility among mothers at their old age and the new born babies mental and physical health: increased risk for miscarriage and birth defects, premature labor. Down syndrome could be a typical example of the problems that those kids might have to suffer from. In conclusion, I convinced that the positive sides of this trend are more significant than the negative sides, giving more opportunities for better woman’s and children education and jobs.