Getting promotion is one of the biggest drives for people to apply themselves and work hard in modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? What other factors influence people to work hard?

Some people believe that being promoted by your bosses or companies is a way in which people tend to work harder and better than before. I think that there are several reasons which can explain this attitude, but the main one is recognition of their merits. First of all, when your work is valued and you are appreciated in your workplace, you are more likely to work harder and better since you want to demonstrate, to everyone that has faith in you, that you will not disappoint them. For example, if you are a surgeon and your boss gives you a very difficult surgery as a reward, you will study night and day in order to succeed in it; moreover, once you have overcome your boss's expectations, you will try even harder than before to keep up with them. In addition, there are many other factors that have to be taken into consideration such as the environment, in fact when you work with people that you value and are nice to work with, your workplace becomes like a family. For instance, people tend to work the hardest where they have the possibility to thrive and have a wonderful career. It was proven that younger people tend to choose a job also based on the employee's intra-relationships since they value more mental health respect to older generations. In conclusion, i think that people tend to focus more on their jobs if they have the possibilities to be promoted or to have a wonderful career, additionally when you work in a place you like, you will be more driven to be successful.