You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, young people do not read newspapers or watch the news on television. Using smartphones and computers are the two main causes of this issue. Parents could ask their children to allocate some time to read newspapers and watch television broadcasts. To begin with, smarts phones and computers are dominating the world, especially among teenagers. For instance, they are addicted to music and online games. Therefore, their focus got narrowed down and they do not give enough importance to world affairs. Further, there are many online social media platforms where people can share photos, videos and gossip. As a result, teenagers frequently access social media to watch those feeds. This has led to less focus on journals and television reports. In order to resolve this issue, guardians should request their children to spend some time reading journals and following tv broadcasts. For example, many guardians in Sri Lanka have requested their young people to allocate one hour per day to focus on current events in the country and around the globe by following the news. Also, language teachers have given assignments or mid-term exams to students on current events. Thus, students have been forced to follow the news. Additionally, this could improve students' language skills and vocabulary. In summary, due to the high usage of mobile and laptops, youngsters do not follow the broadcasts, since they are addicted to social media and online games. Parents could resolve this issue by enforcing their children to follow the bulletins and teachers could give assignments based on the current events in the world.