Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective?

The debate over whether increasing fuel costs is the most efficient way to deal with the ever-rising traffic congestion and rocketed pollutant emissions is a longstanding one. I believe that before planning to solve this problem in the easiest way, numerous helpful methods can help identify the issue by its roots. Therefore, I think this idea is unsuitable for many societies. On the one hand, injecting discouragement into society with financial force may lead to potential and hidden aggression while assisting the expansion of the societal gaps among people. For instance, the surge in petrol expenses might imperatively affect lower-income individuals who rely on utilising their private vehicles for work. Many people in metropolitan cities such as Tehran, where I live, commute to work from over 60 kilometres away. Nonetheless, increasing the fuel costs will not only bring more disadvantages but also affect many lives. On the other hand, alternative solutions to address this topic include investments in alternative energy infrastructures, hybrid and electric vehicles, upgrading company emission standards, creating pedestrian-friendly spaces in cities, and searching for and investing in environmentally friendly energy facilities. As it is apparent, there are countless methods to deal with this issue rather than simply addressing it with the most convenient solution. For example, enhancement in the public transportation system by upgrading vehicles to hybrid ones, besides designing more rigorous emission standards for different companies, may be an alternative approach to deal with this conflict. In conclusion, countless approaches can be used to solve traffic expansion and pollution, but increasing the prices of fuel might not be as efficient as governments use to think, as there are many aspects that require multi-disciplinary experts' advice on this issue.