In some parts of the world, it is increasingly popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

To some people in certain parts of the world, having some understanding of their own family tree is becoming an ongoing trend. In my opinion, there are certified reasons behind this, and even with some concern about this idea being adverse, it is undoubtedly a positive development. The key rationale behind this might be that some individuals are eager to see their relatives again after being separated for a long time. For example, some families had to scatter to places for years to avoid wars or internal conflicts in their countries, in order to ensure their survival. By knowing about the background of the families, people might track back to their roots and find their distant cousins who might still remain in this area. Another cause leading to this trend stems from the fact that some people are determined to rediscover family secrets that have faded after centuries. For instance, some families might have a royal background; nevertheless, they lost their statuses for unknown reasons. Hence, if the history of the family is thoroughly analysed, the descendants might regain the respect and dignity that their ancestors once had. Even with the controversy surrounding this trend, I concur that this trend can be advantageous. Regarding the individual aspect, having a profound knowledge of his family tree would be of great assistance to the enjoyment of studying history, which is vital for countries that put an emphasis on this subject. In addition, one boasting sufficient details about his family can utilise some of the stories from the past to write journals or historical documentaries, all of which might become valuable assets to pass down to the next generation. Some might worry that this act would unveil some notorious stories of a plethora of respectable names in the past, which might be damaging to their stature; nonetheless, I reckon this would help the mass to have a more comprehensive view of their own predecessors. To conclude, in view of the desire to reunite with long-lost family members and to reveal some secrets of their family names, some people are researching the history of their families meticulously, which I think is beneficial. If stories about the past are published, historians might be capable of solving some ever-present mysteries of the world.