Many children no longer read books and instead spend their time using modern technology. While some people think it is a positive trend, others think it is a problem. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There has been a trend that many children no longer read books; they would rather spend their time using modern technology, such as socializing. I believe this is a negative trend, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. Modern technology adversely affects kids' characteristics. There are many prevailing apps, like TikTok. Those apps bring entertainment to our life; however, those apps have negative impacts. For instance, they let children become impatient. As we know, gaining new knowledge can be a long and arduous way; nevertheless, due to the popularity of modern technology, information has been imparted in the form of video. Those videos are usually around 1-5 mins, and knowledge in those videos is explained in the easiest way. As a result, modern technology simplifies the steps of obtaining new information but also brings impatience, especially in children. Second, modern technology can alter children's outlook to a large extent. Due to technological development, people can use the internet easier; hence, there are some occupations that are closely linked to the internet, like Youtubers and TikTokers. According to some statistical figures, most of those internet celebrities don't have a proper diploma but still earn a lot of money. As a consequence, such a trend is bound to influence young generations; kids will think it's useless to spend time studying and being an internet celebrity is easy to make money. On the other hand, if children could sit down and read some books, they will find they can obtain a lot. For example, reading can practice your temper. It's commonplace that it takes at least hours to finish reading a book. Thus, were you to sit down and read, you could become more patient. In conclusion, I believe it is detrimental to the growth of children.