Many citites around the world are facing severe traffic congestion problems. what are the main causes for this issue and what solutions can be implementedt to solve it ?

Nowadays, urban cities are having trouble with heavy traffic jams. Lack of appropriate public transportation as well as excessive utilisation of cars by people is a major reason for this obstacle. Implementation of strict policies by the state along with improving the condition of the public transportation system would be the right step in the direction of gradually controlling this complication. To commence with, transportation systems which are maintained by public authorities are a major contributor towards severe traffic congestion due to lack of proper maintenance in public buses and trains. If these transportation modes were comfortable, affordable, and fast more people would use them instead of driving their own cars. Furthermore, Rapid urbanization has resulted in overcrowded roads. People are utilising their own cars for transportation which is becoming a common trend among individuals, and consequently, the number of vehicles on the road has increased leading to heavy traffic on roads. From my perspective, the obvious approach would be implementing strict government policies.The first one is a restriction on cars. For example, an odd-even method for cars on the road was first utilised by China to control severe traffic complications. This measure can effectively control the number of vehicles on the road because in the odd-even method cars with an ending even number can be driven three to four days of the week and vice versa for odd-number vehicles.The second policy is allocating more funds for improving infrastructure as well as public transportation modes. if trains and buses are made more comfortable and economical for the common public. the utilisation of these transportation modes can be enhanced thus leading towards less traffic on roads. In conclusion, heavy traffic problems are caused by ineffective infrastructure and poor condition of public transportation modes. By adopting strict state policies and providing appropriate funds for enhancing better experience in state transportation modes these complications can be tackled.