It Is Becoming Increasingly Popular To Have A Year Off Between Finishing School And Going To University. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Education plays an indispensable role in everyone's life. Nowadays, there is an increasing trend to have a year gap between completing school and admitting in university. This essay will elucidate the merits along with the demerits of this trend in the following paragraphs. The biggest benefit of having a yearly gap before starting college is that pupils get ample time to relax. This is to say that students do lots of work hard to they need some time to relax their body and mind. In addition, they learn plenty of skills that enable them to work professionally in a workforce. Moreover, some students prepare for the entrance exam at this time. For instance, the vast majority of students, who want to become engineers, are one-year droppers to clear the entrance exam so that they can get admission in a renowned engineering college. There are some disadvantages of having a gap of one year between high school and university study. Most students waste this time and do nothing; therefore, they forget important concepts learnt in school. Furthermore, those students who start working lose their interest in studying because they start preferring money over education. For instance, a survey in Canada found that 30% of students end up thinking to go to university after starting work In conclusion, although having a year off between ending high school and starting a tertiary education has many advantages like providing relaxation and learning some valuable skills. Students tend to stop working and waste their secondary education.