Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

There may be critical problems practically and socially if you have to live in a country where you need to talk a foreign tongue. Although this will leads to social isolation and linguistic challenges, these practical and social problems can be easily overcome with the new technology and technical devices. In my point of view, I disagree with this statement because I believe that people can adapt to communities with the help of technology. Living in a different state can indeed cause several social and practical issues as a consequence of the language barrier. This is because people may end up with miscommunication as a result of difficulties in expressing their ideas due to the inability to talk a foreign language. Furthermore, people may have to experience some problems such as difficulty getting help when needed. For instance, in Korea, recent research done by the University of Seoul revealed that more than 80% of foreign students visited student counselling due to social isolation as a result of their inability to speak the Korean language. However, there is a technical development that can overcome problems associated with the linguistic barrier, such as software applications for navigation, finding different places and getting necessary services. Moreover, some devices can convert foreign languages to the native tongue. People can adapt to the new society and new languages with those techniques. For example, most Lankan students in Japan use several apps such as Duolingo to communicate with the Japanese. In conclusion, although living in a foreign state where you have to talk a different language, I believe that they can easily interact with society with the help of technology despite having social or practical problems associated with the language barrier.