Some people think that governments should do more to make their citizens eat a healthy diet. Others believe that individuals must take responsibility for their own diet and health. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Having a healthy diet is essential for population’s physical condition, which is common sense for many people. However, whether authority or individuals should take responsibility is controversial. Some people argue that individuals should be responsible for their health condition because what type of food folk eat depends on themselves as it is their choice to eat healthy or unhealthy. Unfortunately, most healthy food is not as delicious as unhealthy food because it lacks tasty ingredients such as sugar and fat. As a result, many people tend to eat unhealthy food if they are not aware of its hazard. More importantly, it is a fact that healthy food like organic vegetables is way more expensive than industrialized junk food such as chips. Some people do not want to eat unhealthily, but they have no choice because they cannot afford healthy food. I believe that governments should pay more attention to public health. Citizens are taxpayers who support the operation of governments. Thus governments should take care of citizens’ well-being, including health conditions. A healthy eating habit is essential for people to reduce the risks of getting some diet-related diseases such as diabetes or obesity. Therefore, governments should make some policies to help the public establish awareness of the importance of a healthy diet and reduce the cost of healthy food. On the one hand, they can ask food manufacturers to print the nutrition and original materials on the covers of the food, which is already mandatory in many countries. On the other hand, they can put some budgets to support the healthy- food -making companies to lower the price, just like what they have done to the electric vehicle industry, to encourage people to have a better diet. Although people have the freedom to choose whether they eat healthily or not, I still believe that governments should do more to improve the average level of citizens’ health conditions.