In many countries, there is shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the country side, others argue for the regeneration of cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building new towns in the country?

Around the world today, there is an increase in the number of people which has led to individuals being homeless, many are of the opinion that new communities be built to accommodate everyone while others suggest the towns be reconstructed. In this essay, I will be looking at the pros and cons of constructing fresh settlements in the state. To begin with, there are numerous suggestions to how to solve the housing challenge caused by the increase in population, but one that has been in practice is the giving of new towns in the county side as this would create more room for those that are homeless. For example, the Nigerian federal capital is overcrowded so the government created other settlements in the outskirts of the state thereby bringing accommodation for all resulting in meeting the basic needs of man. However, irrespective of the advantages that the construction of new settlements brings to the people, it also has its drawbacks that cannot be overlooked. This includes firstly, deforestation as building new shelter homes would lead to the cutting down of trees and forests that usually serve as a means of agricultural benefits and source of food. For instance in Bayelsa, the making of new areas brought about the clearing of farms which resulted in hunger in the land. Secondly, this effort will predispose the atmosphere to unfavourable weather conditions as the trees we have protect the soil from erosion and also absorb harsh chemical substances. A case scenario is the Australian global warming challenge that was linked to being caused by the hike in the falling of forest tress predisposing the people to acid rain and other harmful conditions. In conclusion, overcrowding in many cities has been faced with the challenge of limited houses, in as much as the advantages of erecting new buildings are much, its drawbacks should not be neglected so as to create a balance in society.