more and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programme to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

The way of knowing the world is always being changed alongside the development of advanced technologies. Therefore, it brought a phenomenon that online information is more popular and accessible for an individual to recognise the world rather than the information sources like TV or newspaper. From my personal perspective, getting to know the world through the Internet is better under the present circumstances. Firstly, undoubtedly, the volume of data from online information has overwhelmingly surpassed the maximum volume of data that the traditional media could load. That is to say, the information from TV or newspaper is limited, but the information from the Internet is unlimited. For example, an applicant to be interviewed would be able to collect all the related information about the job position online in order to build a comprehensive understanding of the company and job content. Otherwise, the applicant could only find narrowed and fragmented information, which would directly influence career development in the long run. In short, the Internet admittedly provides an information -getting method that TV and newspaper couldn't. Secondly, the high time efficiency and enriched user experience have altered the trend from TV and newspaper to the Internet. Namely, watching TV and reading newspapers are both passive experiences, an individual only has one way to get the information. However, the Internet, delivering an active experience, could offer multiple options for users to comprehend the world based on what terminal devices an individual uses. For instance, there are diverse websites delicately designed to be surfed adaptively by AR devices, VR devices and personal computers. Hence, the Internet creates brand-new approaches, whereas TV and newspaper are too outdated. In conclusion, as I have mentioned before, these two main features of the Internet have made a positive development for every modern individual who would like to embrace the advancement of technology. And I believe, in the future, the Internet also would be a substitute for TV and newspaper today.