Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

We are living in an extremely competitive world. This society is continuously pushing us, making us feel that we must be the best in everything we do, and that we must have a rivalry with our colleagues to be better or to get more recognition than them. However, in the long run, I don’t think this theory has been proven true. In this essay, I would like to argue why I believe that the education approach should be reconsidered in our schools, so kids stop competing between themselves and are shown the importance of cooperation to achieve their goals. It has been widely instilled in our educational system that you have to be always better and if possible, the best. Research shows that more than 80% of the high school student have felt the pressure of having to have better qualifications than their peers. Unfortunately, when they haven’t, this has had a negative impact on their mental health, making them feel they were not enough, or that they were not worthy. On the other hand, it has been observed, that in those educational methods, such as Montessori or Regio Emilia, in which the focus is on cooperation, there is no willingness to be the best in the class. Instead of that, there is ambition for achieving goals, but always working together as a team and making contributions. In conclusion, the current competitive education systems must be reconsidered. Although, being competitive is not a negative attribute, in my opinion in schools the pupils should be educated to work together and show the power of teamwork.