Non-coding RNAs as Modulators for Drug Delivery and Epigenetic Changes in Immunotherapy Resistancy of Cancer

Cancer is considered a multifactorial disease arisen from an alternative function of epigenetic modulations and genetic factors. A wide spectrum of strong evidence research has shown that non-coding RNAs (ncRNAs) are related to the epigenetic modulation of cancer genes and their associated networks. A paramount consideration of molecular epigenetic mechanism is the expression of ncRNAs making a more significant contribution to the regulation of cancer pathogenesis and many other diseases. However, cancer immunotherapy is a well-established method for the treatment of a wide range of cancer types, the root of the problem lies in the different responses in patients and low-level responses or tumour cells evading the immune functions. With many tumours resentencing to immunotherapy in cancer diseases, ncRNAs play an unprecedented role in enhancing the efficiency of immunotherapy towards tumours through epigenetic changes. In this review, we will look back over current knowledge of the functions, expressions, critical mechanisms and drug delivery of ncRNAs via epigenetic modulations. This review will bring great benefits to novel ncRNA-based immune classes in cancer immunotherapy. Finally, the ultimate purpose of this study is to arouse interested researchers to conduct on the theory because of a large knowledge gap in ncRNA-based cancer immunotherapy for responses to treatment. However, not only have a few epigenetic drugs been approved by FDA, but also a new hope has dawned on RNA-based therapeutics with epigenetic effects for cancer treatment. They potentially have a driving force in cancer immunotherapy without side effects. In addition, Other molecular mediated RNA means combined with nanoparticles, Crispr/Cas9, polymer-based, lipid-based nanoparticles (LBNPs) can enhance RNA delivery to the tumours, tissues and immune cells. They can promote immune responses by either silencing or upregulating the immune-relevant genes to improve the efficiency of new drug delivery to cross-cell membranes. To conclude, now a more nuanced understanding of this research could pave the way for a new propelling investigation. We hope that it will be given the scientists an appreciation of some of the issues involved. The bottom line is that the future prospects of the research on personalized medicine would shed light on novel ncRNA-based cancer immunotherapy with epigenetics changes.