Nowadays, it is getting difficult for people to enjoy their lives in cities. Why do you think this is? What can the government do to make life in cities more enjoyable?

Enjoyable life in urbanized parts of the world is becoming increasingly challenging these days. While there are some burning problems associated with the high cost of living and air pollution, by investing a vast amount of funding in housing and imposing several laws, states can solve such issues in the hope of making people’s lives better, in my opinion. It is true that, among numerous difficulties, living standards in urban areas are more expensive in comparison with rural places. In other words, in cities, living costs, including rent, transportation expenses, and grocery bills, are usually significantly higher, making it one of the biggest concerns for those living in cities. In New York City, for instance, the average price of rent is more than $4,000, which is higher than average salaries in some developing countries. Governments in such places can alleviate this problematic situation, though. Put simply, they should ensure affordable housing costs by allocating a huge amount of money to building more houses. This approach can ease the financial burden on low-income families, making residents in cities happier. Air pollution is another factor keeping city dwellers from enjoying their lives. As we know, air pollution is nowadays the most alarming issue in metropolitan areas since these places are usually filled with cars, resulting in a higher level of air pollution. To be more precise, the more people use vehicles on the road, the higher the level of polluted air will be. The governmental bodies should also shoulder the responsibility of tackling this very trouble. Specifically, the government should enact certain policies based on the use of private cars because of the toxic fumes that such vehicles produce. In Germany, for example, the law related to restrictions regarding the use of personal cars has been implemented, leading to a reduced level of air pollution and a happier society. In conclusion, among many problems of urban life, the main ones are high costs of living and ecological problems. From my perspective, the government should devote a substantial amount of money to building cost-effective houses and implement legislation concerned with car usage to make the lives of cities better.