Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been controversy about whether the government should take up the responsibility to tackle rising obesity in children. Some people believe the authorities should be responsible for it, and others believe it is because personal eating habits cause obesity. I agree that the government is responsible for solving obesity in children, and the reasons will be explained in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, despite eating healthy foods is a significant way to against obesity which causes an unbalanced diet, the government regulation is not supportive enough. Healthier or fresh and nutritious foods are more expensive than a normal diet. To illustrate, it pushes citizens to purchase heavily processed foods containing different additives; it is significantly harmful to humans and causes obesity. For instance, a survey taken in Hong Kong reported that citizens are more likely to purchase normal food rather than fresh and nutritious ingredients because the prices are three times higher; also, they suggested that the government should subsidize the public for purchasing these healthier foods. Moreover, considering that lack of exercise could also lead to obesity, schools syllabus designed by the government contribute to obesity problems. In other words, in schools aiming to pursue academic development only, students’ timetables are packed with indoor classes with little or even no sports lessons. For example, in Hong Kong, school kids only get approximately one hour of physical education courses weekly. As a result, these kids suffer an unhealthy lifestyle, underestimate the function of sports and lead to obesity because of lack of exercise. In conclusion, the authorities have the responsibility for tackling the obesity problem that happened in children because of a lack of supportive measures and biased schools’ syllabi.