There are more families having only one child in the modern days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a trend that more families tend to have only one child in the modern days. I think its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, it's easier for parents. As we know, cultivating a kid from boyhood to manhood requires innumerable efforts. For example, when children are still infants, parents need to check whether they are hungry constantly. When they are in school, parents need to check their homework regularly. At this point, the more children the parents have, the more pressure they have to take. Besides, having one child is more economical. Take China as an example. It's prevailing that Chinese parents want their kids to study abroad; however, it's extremely pricy for most families. Therefore, were there two or more children in a family, it's bound to cause some arguments and alienate their relationships. Second, it's advantageous to the growth of the kids. It's expected that if the age difference between siblings is too large, the older ones might bully the younger ones. It has been reported that family violence can adversely affect a person's characteristics; bullying from older sisters or brothers is considered one of the main causes. Take me as an example. I have a sister who is older than me. During our childhood, we often had fights; our parents were partial to me just because I was younger. In this case, it's unfair to the older kids. On the other hand, having only one child has some demerits as well. For instance, the kid can be selfish. It's commonplace that if a family only has one child, this child will have all the love and resources. On the contrary, such a situation can render this child to be selfish and don't know to cherish it. In conclusion, I believe the merits of having only one child outstrip its demerits.