Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

As like a coin, there exist both sides for the idea of consuming eatable insects to counter the growing food shortage due to the ramping up of the population. Some might agree with the prompt of intaking edible bugs whereas another group would rally against it stating the negative effects that could emerge. The positives of eating insects include numerous health benefits. Few pests or ants are packed with high nutrition value and also with some advantageous chemical components which could benefit the people intaking it. For example, recent research has proved that ants are high in protein and has anti-oxidants which could help in improving one's health. Thus proving that there are some upsides in including them as a part of our diet. Adding upon this, there is another instrumental advantage which relates to the ubiquitous nature of certain bugs which further leads to low market price for them. Moreover the insects reproduce much faster than mammals which could help to support the demand better than the animal meat. Looking onto the downsides, the foodchain might be affected if people start targeted hunting of specific species of insects due to the medical property it holds. Not only it exacerbate the plummeting population of such species due to consumption but also significantly introduces a adverse impact on the population of the animals which are dependent on them. For example, in a village in China, a specific species of locusts were hunted frequently for food which conversely ended up in affecting the population of the birds that feed upon them. Thus the food chain disturbance should be carefully handled since a crack in the food cycle will end up affecting humans finally.Even insects contribute immensely for pollination which could also face issues if population of such species start dropping. Thus the food chain disturbance should be carefully handled since a crack in the food cycle will end up affecting humans finally.Even insects contribute immensely for pollination which could also face issues if population of such species start dropping.