Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, an increasing number of people suffering from diseases are trying other ways to cure their health issues instead of being treated by doctors. Although this phenomenon can be beneficial in some ways, I believe the disadvantages associated with this trend will outweigh the advantages. To begin with, there are various merits if patients choose to find alternative remedies for their ailments rather than go to public centres. Firstly, visiting doctors in prestigious hospitals is costly. Although these state-owned centres offer patients insurance which helps to reduce the expenditure on treatments for some common health problems, various diseases namely heart disease or cancer will cost them an arm and a leg to be cured. Secondly, herbal and natural treatments can be effective in increasing the health condition of some individuals. For example, yellow turmeric is said to do wonders for cancer patients because it contains Curcumin, a substance that can destroy cancer cells. However, alternative medications may be detrimental to people's lives. To explicate, a sick person cannot precisely diagnose what his body is suffering without having a medical checkup, thus having the wrong treatment for himself. Therefore, it not only worsens the condition of the problem but even leads to death. In some cases, if patients do not receive proper treatments, they may die within some days. For instance, meningitis results in death in 3 days. Moreover, many treatments are not backed by science. Various alternative medications are designed for different purposes and may have increased side effects or decreased efficiency. As a consequence, the result would be disastrous when patients use these medicines without doctors' instruction. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are few benefits of alternative treatments, I argue that this trend has great negative impacts on human health. Also, it is advisable for people to go to the hospital to ensure their well-being.