Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, student exchange programs are gaining traction and some teachers believe that international student exchange can positively influence all school students. This essay agrees that this phenomenon is beneficial to students, but nevertheless, both views of the argument will be discussed below. To begin with, international student exchange is the best option in order to broaden students ’ horizons. If there are foreign students, they can learn a new language, and immerse themselves in a new culture. On top of that, local students also will get to know new knowledge, so it might be beneficial for both sides to open their minds and I agree with this. It has been proven by the USA as student exchange programs are popular there and the vast majority of pupils speak different languages and are familiar with customs, and cultures thanks to it. This example proves how much student exchange programs are essential for the development of all students. Although it has pros, there is a major drawback of student exchange is a cultural shock leading to stress. This is because when a student stays far from home in a new environment among unknown people, and new culture, customs, mentality, and all these factors may result in triggering stress. However, I disagree with this since international student exchange, in contrast, assists to escalate the awareness of people about different cultures and thereby averts cultural shock even if the cultures are completely different from each other. As an illustration, in Canada, where exchange programs are developed, a survey of foreign students showed that 80 percent of them do not combat cultural-related obstacles. Therefore, the majority do not experience problems in terms of culture. In conclusion, even though international student exchange may incur a cultural shock, there are the pros such as being more open-minded, exploring cultures, and honing language skills. Taking into account the pros and cons, I think that disadvantage is overshadowed by its positive sides.