Some people think secondary/high school students should study only literature from their own countries.Others,however,believe students should study literature from all around the world.

Some people argue that students should learn only their country's literature like poems,novels and others while others have reverse opinions on this issue.Personally, I believe both national and global literature can provide a range of benefits to students and learning which literature should be optional for both secondary and high school undergraduates. On the one hand,focusing only on national literature provides a number of benefits. First and foremost,learning about their own culture, literature and life in the past gives them a sense of identity.In this way,they dive deep into their history.In outline, the literature of their own country gives them a more general notion about their descendants and how their lives were.At the same time, this approach is appealing to teachers,as well.An emphasis on a smaller range of literature gives educators a narrower teaching scope,making curriculum design an easier task. As a result,both teachers' and students' work will be much easier. By contrast,learning global literature like Chinese or Russian literature has also particular merits. First off,these kinds of literary works are good ways to widen the horizon.By doing so,each and every student will be able to enlarge their knowledge. Moreover,reading world literature gives great enjoyment to every reader.Why would people want to limit themselves with their own when they have a whole range of world masterpieces in front of them. To conclude, Although focusing solely on national composition offers certain benefits, global literature as well provides you with a wider horizon and great enjoyment of reading.That's why every learner should be given a choice in terms of what to study in literature classes.