Whether or not someone achieves aim in their life is mostly a question of luck. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that success in life depends primarily on luck. While I believe that luck can make a person successful and rich, it is certainly not the most important factor. There is no doubt that luck matters in some ways. Firstly, luck helps people get opportunities. For example, people who win the womb-lottery and are born in rich families, certainly get more opportunities than people born in poor families. Secondly, today success is mainly defined by wealth and there are a lot of ways in which luck can help people to become wealthy. To illustrate, they can win a lottery or win money through shares in the stock market. However, I believe that hard work and talent are much more important than luck. The main reason is that luck can get people opportunities but to have sustained success in life people need to work hard. For example, because of nepotism, an actor’s son may get a movie role, but if he is not talented and hardworking, he would not get future opportunities. Similarly, a person might be lucky to be born rich but unless he studies hard, he would not be able to get into a good university, and without good education, it is nearly impossible to be successful in life today. Moreover, there is so much competition in the world today that luck alone is not enough. If people are not hard working, they cannot grow. They would be stuck at the same position. Finally, I think success is also about a person’s mental satisfaction and the satisfaction that people achieve from hard work can never be achieved by winning a lottery or getting lucky. In conclusion, I would like to repeat that luck can help us be successful in some ways, but hard work and talent matter much more.