Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programs should aim to educate we were’s about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The argument over whether popular TV entertainment programs should aim at educating society about significant public problems is a shared social problem itself. I completely disagree with this idea and I tend to believe that TV amusement should exist for fun purposes only. Nowadays, media is the greatest influence on people's minds. In fact, humanity has never consumed so much content as we do now, especially for entertaining purposes. Firstly, I really think that amusement shows should be there for fun. It should work as an instrument of relaxation of people's minds because it is one of the ways we can wind down, deal with anxiety and escape from modern-day urban stress. Secondly, putting too much attention on crucial social issues may lead to a switch of focus. Consequently, the problems might fall out of focus and even get normalized by society. However, I cannot help but mention the importance of raising awareness of these issues. We live in a society with a lot of injustice and prejudice, and we are responsible for getting aware of the consequences it may bring. For example, I think that racism is a totally unacceptable idea in the 21st century. It is simply ridiculous to judge a person by their skin colour, and the consequences of racism are often dangerous, if not deadly. In addition, placing educational aspects on TV entertainment shows can function as a constant reminder, and keep us mindful. In conclusion, entertaining TV shows are a great way for people to deal with the modern hectic stress, anxiety and fatigue. Personally, I am absolutely convinced that burdening it with educational content, even if it concerns important social issues, would be a mistake. We should not let these problems fall out of focus and become stigmatized.