Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

These days, the amount of domestic recyclable rubbish has been increasing, but most people do not pay attention to this environmental issue. Some people believe that governments should legislate some rules and regulations in order to increase this. In my opinion, making rules is an effective way, but it is not enough to deal with this. It is clear that legislation of some rules will have positive effects. In fact, many citizens will follow the rules and try to separate their recyclable waste because they do not want to be fined. However, there are always some inconsiderate people who break the rules, and they do not spend time recycling their household refuse materials. Therefore, the legislation of laws is not enough to solve this essential issue. In addition, it is not possible that police officers to control all citizens to ensure that they obey the rules. There are some other solutions to increase recycling of waste materials. Raising awareness of people about the importance of recycling is the main solution. For instance, some interesting educational television programs are useful to encourage people to pay more attention to environmental issues. Furthermore, some entertaining events and competitions should be held by governments. For example, some governments hold handicraft competitions in which participants have to create a craft with waste materials. To sum up, the rules are not adequate to increase the amount of recycling domestic refuse materials. In my view, there are other effective ways to tackle this important problem such as educational programs and events