Some believe that because everyone needs a place to live, governments should provide houses for those who are too poor to afford their own. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many reformers believe that it is the responsibility of governments to provide public housing for members of the public that are too poor to afford their own homes. In my opinion, although there are some situations when this might be necessary, it is better to allow people the opportunity to pull themselves out of poverty. Those who support government assistance in housing programs point out the institutional shackles that keep people in poverty. In the United States, there is a long, painful history concerning African Americans that began with slavery and discrimination and still shows its impact in various more muted forms of racism. These people have few chances to escape poverty and own their homes because they have difficulty getting a good education and a job. If governments provide them with housing, that frees up their money to go to their children's education and can break the long chain of poverty that has blighted their path in America. Although the argument mentioned above has its merits, in my opinion, people who help themselves are more likely to be able to maintain their success. Charity is a notoriously double-edged sword because it fosters dependence. Someone in poverty who works hard finds an escape, and manages to own a home will develop reserves of willpower and determination that will serve them their entire life. Their self-respect will also help them in their work and encourage them to hold onto their house, regardless of obstacles. If the government gifts this person a house, they will be much less inclined to take care of it and will not develop any of the qualities that will spell out their success in life more generally. In conclusion, more self-reliant people are more likely to be successful and hold onto their homes. The role of government ought to be more subtle and include educational reforms aimed at opening up opportunities that individuals can themselves seize.