In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vechiles outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary epoch, everyday new innovations are taking place in terms of technology, one of such inventions is driverless vehicles. This certainly has some obvious demerits which I presume overweighs the merits it brings to society. Further, in this essay I will discuss both views. To begin with, a large number of people across the globe waste a lot of their time travelling to and fro on daily basis, resulting in very less time for not only themselves but also family. However, driverless cars will definitely give some leisure time to its passenger from their sedentary lifestyle. For instance, I have to take a long ride of 2 hours every day to reach my office, with the help of an auto-mode car I can utilize this time to do activities that I love such as reading. On the other side, though it provides spare time for its commuters it can be detrimental in many ways. Firstly, the road situations are not the same everywhere and hence these commutes need to be trained to take into consideration the weather as well as road conditions of a particular region. Secondly, in case of unforeseen circumstances, it would be of utmost chaos for the only person travelling inside the vehicle as he/she might not have adequate knowledge of its working. Lastly, this will cause a huge loss of job opportunities for skilled drivers who have been doing this for a long period of time for a living. To sum up, even though the invention of vehicles which do not require a human to drive will give people the freedom to travel independently, we can not ignore the fact that this has tons of risks associated with it which outweigh its advantages.