These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

For many countries, tourism is an essential way to gain profit. However, this source of money also creates many disturbances if not handled well. In this essay, I will describe some of the merits and demerits of tourism, and I believe that the merits of this trend outweigh its negative aspects. Travellers are one of the major financial aids for some nations. When tourists visit a city, they opt for spending a lot of money in order to make their trip much more enjoyable. This attitude in turn improves that city’s economy. Touristic vacations also provide native citizens with new occupational opportunities such as working in hotels or running a souvenir shop that is aimed to sell goods to visitors. For example, Antalya, a seaside town in Turkey which is quite popular among tourists, houses many big hotels therefore many people are able to find jobs in one of those. On the other hand, the popularity of this trend surely causes some harmful situations within the country. For instance, native citizens might get irrigated by the overcrowding and the resulting traffic jam all around the town. This issue might cause a burden on their daily lives. For example, if a local resident is in rush to work but arrives late because of the car traffic around touristic attractions, their employment might get in jeopardy, unfortunately. Therefore, more tourists may possibly mean more problems for local habitants. In conclusion, although tourism evidently causes certain struggles for locals in town, their contributions to the economy of the country and the creation of new employment choices surpass these unwanted troubles.