Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Government budgets play an integral part in the flourishing of life. It is, therefore, not surprising to see how it has caused controversy among people about whether public money should be spent on exploring other planets or solving fundamental problems in society. Some people firmly support the former, while others adamantly object to it. I have solid reasons to agree with both perspectives, two of which are the need for new resources and addressing main societal problems. To begin with, supporters of looking for life on other planets point out that the total resources on Earth are limited. This is a very convincing argument as finding new resources can bring significant changes for new life. For example, the irregular availability of water, which is not an unlimited natural resource, may lead to the extinction of humanity. It may be argued that this is crucial for the development and sustainability of humanity. Thus, trying to find new options plays a significant role in this issue. Additionally, the advocates of this matter consider that the demand for exploring and being curious about space is a telltale sign of this effort. On the other hand, opponents of this matter claim that wasting public money on searching for other opportunities is illogical, especially when there are numerous problems on Earth. They emphasize that the main target of the government should be solving the lack of food and money. This is also a quite satisfactory argument, depending on the fact that abysmal poverty and ignorance lead to unhappiness and poor health, like the conditions faced by people in Africa. It is worth stating that this is a persuasive point, as money should be spent on untreated illnesses with the real aim of saving people. In short, it can be concluded that spending money on any problem depends on the developmental level of the country. To sum up, people have totally different perspectives about this debate. Nevertheless, when everything is taken into account, I am inclined to believe that there should be a delicate balance between these two views.