Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, public debate has been going on over whether a large number of masses are using home remedies during illness instead of visiting certified physicians. I tend to oppose the idea that people should consult their doctor and avoid self-medication for the following reasons. The three main factors support the idea of visiting a doctor and taking proper medication after proper diagnosis and avoiding alternative treatments. The primary we need to take into consideration is that people start home treatment without knowing the exact reason for their ailment, which creates more complications. Obviously, someone starts taking painkillers to reduce his belly pain, although it will provide some temporary relief; however, this pain is an indication of any serious disease and the time wasted in self-treatment worsen the patient’s condition. Besides, people start taking medicines without knowing their proper function; thus, it deteriorates their health further. That is to,say tablets which are used for stomach treatment are prohibited to use during pregnancy, therefore physicians give alternative medications to pregnant ladies for stomach pain. The third reason for my belief is that people use antibiotics without a doctor’s prescription. It is widely recognised that excessive use of tablets badly affects the immune system and the human body can easily be infected by any bacteria in future. I admit that people want to avoid the heavy fees of doctors and prefer to treat their ailments by using common home remedies and self-treatments. Despite that this is a negative trend and most of the time patient’s conditions worsen and are incurable, for which we can find plenty of evidence from our own experience. In conclusion, I would argue that people should timely visit physicians to treat ailments and avoid using alternative self-treatments and medicines. Accordingly, it would be generally advisable for the public that a timely diagnosis of disease saves health as well as money.