Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There have been immense advances in people ’s opinion that a large number of masses are using home remedies during illness instead of visiting certified physicians. In the preamble, I tend to oppose the idea and my reason will be explained in the following paragraphs. The relative effectiveness of physicians can not be denied for several reasons. Primarily, people start home treatment without knowing the exact reason for their ailment, which creates more complications. Obviously, someone starts taking painkillers to reduce his belly pain, although it will provide some temporary relief; however, this pain is an indication of any serious disease and the time wasted in self-treatment worsen the patient’s condition. American Medical Association, 2002 findings, states that people start taking medicines without knowing their proper function; thus, it deteriorates their health further. That is to,say tablets which are used for stomach treatment are prohibited to use during pregnancy, therefore physicians give alternative medications to pregnant ladies for stomach pain. Conversely, self-treatment is thereby feasible but lacks the degree of solidity and professionalism found in treatment by a doctor. Let’s not forget the fact that people use antibiotics without a doctor’s prescription. Johnson Smith (1999) France-based biologist agrees that excessive use of tablets badly affects the immune system and the human body can easily be infected by any bacteria in future. In a nutshell, this essay supports the idea that people should timely visit physicians to treat ailments and avoid using alternative self-treatments and medicines. The reason, in which I summarised my perspective, is a recapitulation of various articles published earlier, but here I see much more transparency by saying this trend should be countered and encourage timely visits to doctors.