new stories on TV and newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. some say that these pictures are more effective than words, what is your opinion?

I once watched a TV drama, the chief editor barked at everybody else in the room, "Do you see any difference between our story and theirs? We have no photo!" Yes, pictures have long been a necessity in news reporting. As far as I am concerned, I opine that pictures, no matter they are photos or simplified diagrams, are really doing an incredible job in conveying messages and are indispensable. To begin with, photos are now almost always with a newspaper article or TV report nowadays, except for the less important stories in the print-out version of newspapers. Photos can definitely convey more messages than words to the readers, especially those hidden messages that the editor wants to push. For example, through the facial expression of the president's photo, you may feel his impatience and cunningness if the paper's stance is opposing that party. I can guarantee you, if you feel that way, it has to be the selection result among hundred of shots taken. On the other hand, simplified diagrams are even more useful to explain complex concepts. For instance, a cartoon-style picture with arrows can show the chronological sequence and the surroundings which give readers a better understanding of how the accident happened. Meanwhile, when reporting a complex business transaction, news editor love to use arrows to connect different boxes, in order to show the key transactions and relationships of different companies involved. To conclude, both photos and simplified diagrams serve important roles in expressing ideas to readers. Not only do they make the stories vivid and real-life but they also make the hard-to-digest information chewable to normal people. I am very confident that pictures will be even more widely used in news reporting in future.