Some school are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, While other schools have a very relaxed dress code. (What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?)

In some schools, the dress code is mandated, while students of other educational institutions are not restricted to wearing uniforms. Personally, I am strongly convinced that the advantages of having a school uniform outstrip its drawbacks. Firstly, the necessity of complying with the dress code is economical, since it cuts down the expenditure on various pieces of clothing and enables parents to save money. Some families cannot afford to buy new clothes every month, instead, parents have the opportunity to spend it on something else, whether it is family needs or a child’s education. Moreover, having to wear a uniform reduces the risks of inequality within the school and children from different social start being judged only by their looks. Secondly, a clearly outlined dress code and rules regarding the appearance of the pupils teach young experts discipline and order. At this point, students now are able to focus more on education and self-improvement. For example, in Japan, the country where the pupils are considered the smartest in the world, every school have their own dress code and set of rules, and disobeying these rules leads to punishment. Although it might seem too severe, it is important to teach kids discipline from a young age. On the other hand, being too strict on kids and making them wear similar clothes could destroy their individuality and change them radically. Outside of school, they have all rights to wear whatever they want,and parents should not impede the process of formation of an individual’s personality. Schools with relaxed dress codes often encourage creativity and contribute to becoming an interesting people. To sum up, I think that the merits of children having a school uniform outweigh the disadvantages, however, it should not stop students from being themselves.