Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that everyone should take care of their local living neighbourhoods. I completely agree with the notion that the government should take action to make people put effort into protecting the local environment via regulations. In my opinion, people would be more responsible for saving the local area when there are laws and policies. Such government regulations could be regarding the little things in daily life that, normally, people would not consider the result of. For example, households can categorise trash with two separate bins, one for recyclables and another for general waste, which will significantly reduce the number of landfills in the local area. As a result, the air and atmosphere would be cleaner, fresher and more livable. Clearly, limiting human pollution and protecting the environment in the local area will, in the long run, result in a greener Earth. Some alternatives can be considered to solve the local environmental problem, but I deem that they would be less effective. One option is to bring businesses and planners to the local neighbourhood to monitor and work on the issues. Despite their experiences, it may still be difficult, in some cases, to improve the situation. It is because those planners, most of the time, come from different places and may take up vast amounts of time to understand the local area situation, and sometimes cannot even yield a practical solution to the problem. Another method is to raise awareness of people through advertising campaigns in the media on the consequences of the destroyed environment. However, this is not forceful, and people may still behave in the same old way. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, I believe laws governing people's behaviour on neighbourhood protection is the best way to save the local environment.