Some people think that technology is a very good study tool for young people. Others, however, believe that it is harmful for the studying process. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

As technology becomes ubiquitous, it has been integrated as a study tool into the school environment. Some argue that this phenomenon negatively impacts the studying process of young generations, while others believe the opposite view where technology brings significant benefits to the students. I will discuss both views and explain why I agree with the latter. To begin with, there are some potential pitfalls associated with using technology at school. One of these is reducing the memory ability of children. For example, As all the learning materials are available on electronic devices, students do not need to write down the lesson materials on paper anymore, whereas the writing process will help with the cognitive and memorisation ability. As a result, students will be dependent on technology to memorise things in their after-school life. Another disadvantage is students may get distracted from the lessons. They may surf the Internet or play games while studying, which, in the long run, limits their attention span and concentration ability. Despite the mentioned drawbacks, I believe technology will bring many definite merits to young people with their learning process. Firstly, they can access all kinds of valuable and informative materials that were difficult to find and learn in the past, when tech devices had not been invented yet. In addition, students can learn online through online courses that are, in some cases, superior to face-to-face classes because of their convenience, affordability and short-term length. A final point is that educational materials can be archived in an organised way, with all notes being stored on the devices within separate folders, saving time to search for them if needed in future, for instance. Clearly, technology makes it easier to perceive knowledge for the young generation. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, although electronic devices may harm children in terms of their studying, the benefits are more significant and valuable. Hence, I strongly encourage the integration of technology in the learning domain.