It is often said that aiming high is important for success. However, some say that keeping goals realistic is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In order to be successful in anything, some say it is better to have big goals, while others say it is more important to have ones that are reachable. I agree with both to a certain extent, and in this essay, I will explain the pros and cons of the two views. Setting a high goal is certainly important when planning for success. The higher it is, the harder people need to work in order to achieve it, so people will not get too frustrated when they are defeated by the challenge. For example, people will probably get angry if they find themselves unable to make a simple meal, but if they are planning on making a full course, they know in advance that the chances of doing it well on the first try are very low. On the other hand, there are also people who will do better if they set themselves small goals. By achieving such easy goals, they will feel strongly that they have made real progress, and by contrast, when they have to reach far out to succeed, they lose their motivation. If a person who is a complete beginner at cooking, for instance, wants to cook a full-course dinner, it is pretty much impossible. However, if they continue to achieve small tasks, like learning how to cut and cook meat or make a special sauce, each step will get them closer to their long-term aim of making a full-course meal. In conclusion, there are conflicting opinions as to whether success requires big or small goals. I think both are necessary, and the achievement of several small goals will lead to reaching a higher one.