Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Work is necessary. One has to toil in order to live a good life. You could labour for an organization or be self-employed. In today's world, individuals prefer working for themselves to working for another. This essay will highlight some reasons why humans choose to be their own bosses and the demerits of being one's own boss. Firstly, many people cannot perform under pressure and supervision. While working for someone involves doing the person's bidding thus succumbing to their guidelines and following their principles, with entrepreneurship you do things at your own pace. For instance, when under authority, you may not be entitled to your opinion, you may be dictated to and given time to finish an assignment while when you're on your own you may do things that satisfy you at your own convenience. Additionally, people will prefer being self-employed so that they become accountable to themselves. When one is working for him or herself, he or she is able to direct affairs by their selves. This will always get them on their toes since they cannot blame anybody for a loss or gain. Furthermore, they'll always want to work harder to avoid losses. The downside of this is, that it is very risky. You can lose everything in a blink of an eye. You may be robbed or your business may go down by the fire. Also, getting capital to start a new business is not child's play. In conclusion, individuals will take being self-employed to work for some other individual because they do not like to be under pressure or supervision and will want to be accountable to themselves. The demerit of being self-employed is the struggle to start a business and lose everything through robbery or fire.