Recent advances in medical science have resulted in increased life expectancy over the past few years. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As a result of the development in technology and medical science, people now can have a longer lifespan than before. Although it seems to be a great consequence and will have a lot of positive effects, it also has some drawbacks that we need to know about. On the one hand, if we can live longer, we can spend more time with our families and someone we love. Furthermore, we will have more time to accomplish our dreams and do something we want to do. For instance, if we live 10 years longer than others, we will have an abundance of time to enjoy our lives and try a variety of activities that we have never done before. For me, I would like to travel around the world or have a long-term trip to a specific country. On the other hand, it is believed that if life expectancy increases, medical costs will grow significantly, which means government have to tax people more to deal with the financial burden. Moreover, since old people have less ability to earn money, the younger generations will have to pay directly or indirectly to their parents. Take Taiwan for example. In recent years, Taiwan has become an ageing society, partly because people have been less willing to give birth to children because they have to spend a lot of time and money on their elderly parents. Therefore, the birth rate is decreasing year by year. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, I believe that the disadvantages of increasing life expectancy outweigh their advantages. I don’t think I can make any positive contributions to this society when I am 80 years old. If I could decide the length of my life, I would not want to reach the age of 90, because I will probably have some troubles with my health and be unable to move freely at that time.