Some people think that it is beneficial for old people to learn something new while others believe that once a person is past 65 years of age it is too late to learn. What is your opinion?

I am of the opinion that the elderly, or specific individuals aged 65 or more should be highly encouraged to continue to learn despite their age. To support this argument, I have two reasons; firstly, they tend to be the loneliest community; lastly, they will now have the opportunity to express themselves more. These reasons would be elaborated more in the following paragraphs. To begin with, I have come across some articles that reported about how most population aged 65+ felt lonely as in majority they are have retired from work and have nothing left to do besides doing chores. This problem, indeed, can be solved with some support from the family, in any way that they could help themselves fill up their day. Hence, they have some activities to do, and not just sit on the couch all day. It is best to embrace them and give them some approach to learning new things, such as learning a new physical activity like yoga, or martial arts. This way, not only will they have the opportunity to have a healthy body, but also they will become a part of a community. Hence, the result would be extraordinary, they will get to know more people, and they would be able to socialize with the other elderly around them. I suppose this is a win-win solution for the old community. Secondly, when people reach their old age, they tend to have a lot of savings as a result of so many years of working. In addition, they also have the time, and nobody would ever come around to ask him a favour or ask to do piles of work anymore, as they used to. Therefore, this is a perfect time to explore more about their interest in life, such as finding a new hobby, travelling all over the world, or even learning how to do equestrian. In other words, they could do whatever activity that they find really appealing, but sadly they couldn't do it before due to their business at work, or any other concerns, including some activities that don't produce money. To sum up, as one of the young generations, I reckon it is definitely best to let our seniors get to learn, albeit they have reached elderly, with the purpose that they will live happier and fulfilled, in ways that they are free from loneliness, and they will also be able to express themselves more.