Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, crime is a serious problem in different countries. Some individuals believe that the best way to reduce crime is by giving longer prison sentences, while others believe that there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Two aforementioned opinions will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin, longer prison sentences help prisoners to repent for their crimes. Depending on the level of the crime, the culprit will have an appropriate prison term. If the punishment is long, criminals have enough time to regret their deeds. They realise that what they have done is wrong, and they strive to become better people. As a result, they are an example for people who are going to fall into the path of sin. For example, in Vietnam, offenders are given prison sentences to the death penalty depending on the severity of their crime. Therefore, I contend that this is highly beneficial to implement because this may reduce the potential crimes in the future. On the other hand, many believe can be reduced by exploring alternative approaches. In the modern era, social quality has developed day by day, an effective method to prevent crime is by making cities safer through increased security measures, such as building more surveillance cameras or renting additional local police. For instance, cities with enhanced security measures have managed to reduce the rate of crimes without using severe punishments. In conclusion, I personally believe that long-term prison sentences are more helpful in reducing the crime rate because they let prisoners realize that what they did was wrong and help them become a better person.