IN SOME CITIES, PUBLIC PARKS AND OPEN SPACES ARE BEING CHANGED INTO GARDENS WHERE LOCAL RESIDENTS CAN GROW THEIR OWN FRUIT AND VEGETABLES. DO THE ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

IN AN EVER-PROGRESSIVE SOCIETY, playground AND OUTDOOR SITES ARE BEING REPURPOSED INTO TREE-PLANTING LANDS FOR DWELLERS IN SOME CITIES. IN LIGHT OF THIS, I CONTEND THAT THE DISADVANTAGES OF REDUCING A SENSE OF COMMUNITY AND ALLEVIATING LOCAL well-being OUTWEIGH THE BENEFITS OF RAISING AWARENESS OF HEALTHY CONSUMPTION. ON THE ONE HAND, IT IS VITAL TO UNDERSTAND THAT NEW PUBLIC GARDENS POSE A THREAT TO THE LOCAL COHESION. TO BE SPECIFIC, PLANTING ACTIVITIES WOULD OCCUPY MOST OF THE SPACE WHICH USED TO BE THE CULTURAL EXCHANGE SPOTS AND REGULAR MEETINGS. CONSEQUENTLY, LOCAL RESIDENTS ARE NO LONGER ABLE TO MEET UP WITH EACH OTHER COMMONLY WHICH DIRECTLY DETERIORATE COMMUNITY BONDS. ONE CLEAR CASE OF THIS IS AGRICULTURE-BASED NATIONS, ESPECIALLY CHINA, ONCE THE GOVERNMENT DEMOLISHED ALL PUBLIC playground IN THE OUTSKIRT DUE TO INCREASING DEMANDS IN FARMING EXPORTATION. THIS WAS RESULTED IN A RISING AMOUNT OF RESIDENT ARGUMENTS IN THE PAST FEW YEARS. ON THE OTHER HAND, SOME PEOPLE, HOWEVER, JUSTIFIED THAT PLANT-GROWING SPACES ARE ESSENTIAL AS THEY ENCOURAGE CITIZENS TO BE AWARE OF HEALTHY DIETS. THIS IS BECAUSE WHEN INDIVIDUALS HARVEST THEIR OWN CROPS, THIS WILL BOTH BE BENEFICIAL IN TERMS OF FINANCIAL SAVING AND STIMULATING PEOPLE'S ENJOYMENT OF HEALTHY MEALS. THIS IS RIGHT TO A CERTAIN EXTENT, HOWEVER, THE MORE TREES ARE PLANTED THE MORE FERTILIZERS AND PESTICIDES ARE IN NEEDED IN ORDER TO BE PRODUCTIVE AND EFFICIENT. HENCE, THOSE ACTIVITIES WHICH NEED ARTIFICIAL CHEMICALS IN ORDER TO SUCCEED WILL CERTAINLY HAVE ADVERSE IMPACTS ON THE ENVIRONMENT. ANOTHER FACTOR WORTH CONSIDERING IS MITIGATING fitness QUALITY. IN OTHER WORDS, PUBLIC PARKS PROVIDE SUFFICIENT SPACES AND PROPER AMBIANCE FOR EXERCISING. THEREFORE, IF THESE PLACES ARE FILLED UP WITH PLANTS, HUMAN WILL LOSE THEIR TERRORITIES TO KEEP FIT. AS A NATURAL OUTCOME, CITIZENS WILL BE RELUCTANT TO PARTAKE IN OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES AS THERE ARE NO LONGER ANY SITES THAT ARE ABLE TO SUPPLY STANDARD REQUIREMENTS FOR THOSE EVENTS. AN ARTICLE FROM SPAIN REVEALS THAT, WITH REGARD TO RECENT CHANGES IN SPANISH COSMOPOLITAN, NEW PUBLIC SPACES PROVIDED ALWAYS RESONATE WITH LOCAL HEALTH INCREMENTS. TAKING ALL POINTS INTO ACCOUNT, IT HAS BEEN CLEARLY SHOWN THAT THE MERITS OF HEALTHY DIET AWARENESS IS OUTWEIGHED BY LOCAL fitness AND SENSE OF UNITY REDUCTION. THEREFORE, EVEN IF PLANTING VEGETABLES AND FRUITS ARE ESSENTIAL, IT SHOULD NOT OVERSHADOW THE BENEFITS OF LOCAL playground.