Today more countries import food from different parts of the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, importing food has been the topical subject of debate. In this regard, the opinion of the public is divided over whether it has the merits or demerits In this essay, I will explore the positive and negative consequences of the purchasing food from other nations. To begin with, there is an appealing ground why buying food from a different place on the earth have pros. Clearly, by importing various types of food, people can have the benefit of health. According to a recent survey, many Asia countries such as Vietnam and Philippine, they were able to increase citizens' nutrition by purchasing food that they could not produce before due to hot weather. Moreover, food exchanging from different countries allows people to buy a food at a low cost. Therefore, this offers strong proof that importing goods can allows people to access to the diverse food. Despite the abovementioned views, I reckon that there are some cons of the food purchasement. First, it increases the usage of artificial ingredients to increase the expired date of the products for overseas exporting. For example, one shows that chemical flavors were additionally added to the food for exporting compared to domestic selling products. Second, the local farmer's income can be affected negatively due to the competitive market condition. Hence, implementing of the frequent food importing can reduce the quality of the food. To sum up, although importing food has many merits, I contend that there are some demerits that we should not be overlooked.